Gelatin or gelatine is a translucent, colorless, brittle, flavorless food.
It comes from collagen that is obtained from various animal by-products.
Gelatin is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, pharmaceuticals, photography, and cosmetic manufacturing.
It is best known as a gelling agent in cooking.
Indeed, different types and grades of gelatin are used in a wide range of food and nonfood products.
Common examples of foods that contain gelatin are;
- gelatin desserts,
- candy corn,
- confections such as Peeps, gummy bears, fruit snacks, and jelly babies. (source)
So can hamsters eat gelatin at all?
Yes they can eat it very occasionally. But not too much.